Interviews…

Soon after my last post, I got a call for a job interview! I completely misheard on the phone and showed up that afternoon (Tuesday). Turned out she said to be there THURSDAY, not TODAY (Tuesday) like I had heard. So for a good portion of Tuesday I was honestly freaking out. Interviews cause me a lot of anxiety. And then add on the embarrassment of being 2 DAYS early! Yikes!

Wednesday afternoon I got another call from a different place to interview at on Monday.

But yesterday I had my first job interview in almost 3 years. All morning I was sick to my stomach. The anxiety was fierce! I was scared to go back there after showing up on Tuesday. I was sure that probably completely disqualified me for the position. Listening skills are very much required.

I showed up 15 minutes early, which is typical for me. For both interviews and once hired. The interview before me was completed so we were able to start almost right away.

Of course once we started I was comfortable and able to be more confident in myself. But getting myself to that point was not easy.

At the end I was told she’d let me know. But she also threw in “I think you did VERY well”. I think so too!

I walked out the doors at the time I was supposed to start interviewing. I also walked out with more confidence than what I walked in with.

Once it was all over, I couldn’t help but question why I was so scared all day. It seemed so silly. I have a lot of experience, not at this particular place, but at places like it.

I just hope that when the time comes for my next interview, I can be confident the entire time leading up to it, as well as during.

Leave a Reply

