Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

First off… I’m using a different  computer than normal to write this.. please forgive me of any horrendous errors :)

Today’s daily prompt is:

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Photographers, show us  YOU. 

My first name is Allison. It means noble kind; of the noble sort. However that is not why I have the name I do.  One of my great grandmother’s maiden name was Allis. I was named for her, with the added “on” at the end.

When I was younger, I wished I had a different name. I don’t know why, but I’m pretty sure it was Elizabeth that I had wished my parents had named me. I outgrew that though, and am happy to say I wouldn’t change my name if given the chance.

Nearly everyone calls me Allee. But I still wouldn’t make it my legal first name. Allison is a name I’m proud to have.

image

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About A Name | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: My Name Is . . . | A Short A Day

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Say Your Name | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

