Dogs or Cats?

Seeing this post over at my friend Rachel’s blog made me think about how my “preference” for what kind of pet has changed over the years…

When I was really little we had dogs, but I honestly don’t remember much about them. I do remember having cats around though! We had various ones at different times. Including my adopting my grandparents’ cat Fluffy.  I wish I had a picture of him here to share!  My grandparents became snow birds, living in their 5th wheel year round – winters in Arizona, summers in Minnesota.

So, I always thought of myself as a “cat person”.

I’ve had cats that were obviously mine. Climbing up in my lap, wanting my attention, even one (who we still have but doesn’t have this habit anymore) who used to wake me up at all hours of the night while trying to nurse off of me. His mama was our cat too, and even though she hadn’t weaned the kittens fully, Stormy would climb up and suckle on my nose or ears.  We called him my cat.  However he has a different preference now.  He sleeps most nights with my girls. Part of the night with one, the other part with the other. And he doesn’t come to me much for any attention at all anymore.  He prefers my husband. Which means my husband has 3 cats. Though one of them has decided I’m not so bad and she’ll jump up in my lap from time to time.

I’ve also had dogs that were very much mine. Mitzy (the rat terrier) is very obviously mine. Since getting her, she’s been my shadow. She sits at my feet or on my lap. She likes lying in bed with me. She’s all mine LOL.

We had been calling Bella my husband’s dog. But she’s taken a liking to cuddling up with me. So when she’s tired, she’s mine. When she wants to play, she’s my husband’s (when he’s not at work). Because that’s her preference.

But we also have another dog, Destiny (black lab/Irish setter mix).  She is truly everyone’s dog. She gives each of us a little something that means so much. We know she’s sick, and she won’t be with us forever. But like all the others, she’s a major part of our lives. I can’t imagine what life will be like without her.

So now, I think of myself as more of a happy medium. But probably slightly leaning more towards dogs.

Our dogs and cats <3

Our dogs and cats <3

How about you?

Leave a Reply

