Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World

Today’s daily prompt asks:

How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?

I know for a fact that I communicate differently online compared to what I do in person. I can communicate much better with the written word. I’m more comfortable with writing than I am with talking.  I stumble over my words when saying them, but when writing them out I can express myself better – and have the opportunity to go back and “edit” most of the time before sending it out for anyone to read.

When I’m talking – I swear. A lot. More than I should. But I’m able to censor myself in writing. I don’t want to offend anyone who might be reading what I have to say, but when I’m actually saying it… that filter seems to not always work. Okay, more like it rarely works.

I think I can communicate my emotion best when written. I’m not afraid to write how I feel, but saying it out loud is difficult for me. It has been that way for a long time.

Growing up my mom recognized this, and we had a notebook. Some of our best “talks” were in written form. I also process things better when reading over listening.

It makes sense that it is easier for me to meet new friends online than it is to meet people in person too. Because to start with, all we have is the writing.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | just happy thoughts | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  3. Pingback: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World! | 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

