Art Appreciation

Today’s daily prompt that can be found here is all about art appreciation.  The question is this:

Do you need to agree with an artist’s lifestyle or politics to appreciate their art? To spend money on it?

My short and simple answer is no.  I probably know very little of any given artist’s background. It’s the piece that I’m drawn to, not the people who created it.  Especially at first impression and most likely before I’d purchase it. If I decide I like the piece enough to purchase, I might look for similar to add to it – which would likely be the same artist. But their beliefs, lifestyle, and politics have nothing to do with it at all for me.

What about you?

 

3 thoughts on “Art Appreciation

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Art Appreciation in the South | My Daily Prompt Blog

    • If I know I disagree with them, then I can see it being harder to appreciate their work. But I don’t typically care about that – as long as I like the piece for what it means to me, vs what it may have meant to the artist.

Leave a Reply

