Growing up

Tonight, my boy goes to his first dance. With a girl.

My boy is 13, and up until recently I didn’t think anyone caught his attention. He’s been building wonderful friendships with other kids in the neighborhood – something he hasn’t been able to do in quite some time. Moving around like we did, and not really having the same interests as his peers for awhile there, he lacked steady friendships. Or the kids he thought he was friends with would turn on him at the snap of the fingers. But now, we’ve had groups of kids hanging out at our place/in our yard. I’ve enjoyed that. Its something I always wanted my kids to have/do, and now its happening.

But what I’ve dreaded for years has started. Dating. That means heartbreak, too. How do we prepare our teen children for that? How do we prepare ourselves to deal with it as well?

I wish I could keep my kids little. I wish they didn’t have to grow up. At least right this minute, I wish they could be little and innocent for far longer.

Leave a Reply

